May 22, 2010

Thanks for your service, don't let the door . . .

On May 21, three of former President Lindsay's most loyal Trustee supporters resigned from the Shimer Board. These Trustees are: Matt Franck, Carson Holloway, and Claudia Allums. All three were in the second cohort brought to the Board by Tom Lindsay. Their resignations give the "Constitutionalists" a comfortable majority of 19 to 13 votes on the Board, and virtually ensures the re-election of Board Chair Chris Nelson. It still does not, however, provide the 2/3 majority necessary for inducting nominees onto the Board or renewing the terms of serving Trustees.

Though there's certainly more work to be done, this is another great victory for the College. Keep it up Shimer!